Wisconsin News Photographers Association 2012 Convention

May 14, 2012~

Wow… what a great experience!

 I’ve been told the more you write the better you become. There’s a reason I enjoy photography, I don’t enjoy writing. Perhaps it’s the criticism I received in school, perhaps it’s all the rules I tend to forget. However, I feel that I must expound on a great 2012 WNPA Convention.

The speakers were fantastic and diversity of subject matter was tremendous. Speakers included; Erin Trieb of VII Photo Agency, Eric Seals of the Detroit Free Press, Damian Strohmeyer of Sports Illustrated, and Mickey Osterreicher attorney.

I was moved by all of them, but Erin Trieb had the most profound impact. Speaking with sincere passion, her presentation was concise, moving,  powerful, and humor was interspersed as needed. She spoke in a narrative to the point where I could literally have listened for hours. She truly cares about her subject matter and wants the audience to understand what she is saying and why. Definitely check out her web presence and The Homecoming Project.

On another note, I was humbled to receive a first place in the Spot News category for 2011 at the 2012 WNPA convention. I would have submitted additional photos for the contest but health issues at the beginning of the year reduced the time available to review and forward my work. More motivation to submit next year.

 Thanks for stopping and I leave you with the following quote 🙂

You’ve got to push yourself harder. You’ve got to start looking for  pictures nobody else could take. You’ve got to take the tools you have and probe  deeper.

William Albert Allard

Leave a Reply

